March Loves

My favorite products as of late are all super affordable which, although purely coincidental, is an interesting change of pace.

IMG_2131

1. Yes to Carrots Nourishing Repairing Night Cream… It’s been uncharacteristically cold (for Florida) and dry these past few months, and this night cream really seems to be rehydrating my skin quite nicely.

2. Bag Balm… This stuff does absolute wonders on the lips.  My only complaint is I wish it came in a smaller tin to keep in my bag.

3. NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder in Sunny… I’ve never quite gotten the hang of contouring (with this or anything else), but I’ve been using it just to kind of warm up my cheeks and the sides of my forehead.

4. e.l.f. Studio 3-in-1 Mascara has one of those medieval-looking spiky ball tips that really helps fan out inner and lower lashes.

5. e.l.f. Studio Under Eye Concealer & Highlighter corrects my zombie under-eyes and costs like 10% as much as Benefit Erase Paste.

6. e.l.f. Essential Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara… I generally love my naturally scruffy eyebrows, but this is the perfect gel for when I feel like taming them just a bit.

7. Pilot G-2 Fine Point Gel Pens are the absolute perfect width to flatter my chubby, little cursive, and the smooth gel ink is pleasantly reminiscent of the arsenal of Gelly Rolls I used to carry in my Lisa Frank pencil case.

8. The Carrie Diaries… Although Sex and the City was a bit before my time, I’ve naturally seen/obsessed over all the reruns, and (as a curly-haired shopaholic student journalist)  have long considered Carrie Bradshaw a kindred spirit.  The whole impossibly well-dressed high school drama against a Manhattan backdrop of this show is helping fill the void left behind by Gossip Girl.  Throw in 80’s excess and Andy Warhol, and no wonder I’m hooked.

9. Doctor Who… I’ve never really been into sci-fi, but (in addition to my being a total anglophile) DW has enough mystery, action and forbidden romance that I’ve been able to accept the whole alien thing.  And it doesn’t hurt that the doctor keeps getting better looking each time he regenerates (I can has Matt Smith?).

10. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion is essentially Romeo & Juliet with zombies.  I haven’t gotten around to seeing the movie yet, but the book is the most witty and charming I’ve read in ages.

11. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green… No one captures teen longing and tragedy like John Green.  I’m probably a bit old to be such a giant fan of all his novels, but I’m not even ashamed to admit he made me cry yet again.

What do you think of my picks?
What things have you been loving lately?

XOXO, T

4 thoughts on “March Loves

  1. Great post! Love this blog…I wanted to let you know that Bag Balm DOES come in a smaller tin! It’s one ounce – I keep the big tin at home and the small one in my bag, and re-fill the small one from the large one every so often. I got mine on Amazon.com.

    Like

  2. Warm Bodies was one of my favorites that I read this year. The movie was entertaining but not nearly as impressive as the novel, as to be expected. I also love John Green and also only recently read his novels at 23-24 years old. But they are so good!

    Like

    • Aren’t books always better than their movie counterparts? I’m hopeful about TFIOS movie though, as John Green seems to have been really involved throughout the process and the casting is kind of spot on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

