Spring ’15 Loves & Let Downs

It’s basically almost summer here in CFL, so it’s high time I get around to sharing my spring loves while anyone still cares.  (Bueller?  Bueller?)

IMG_4153

theBalm Nude Tude
I know I’m like years late, but I’ve finally jumped on the Nude Tude bandwagon.  My favorite shades in this palette are Seductive–a smokey bronze–and Stand-offish, which is a dead ringer for Stila Kitten.  (Stila is no longer cruelty free, upon its decision to sell its products in China.)

IMG_4151

theBalm Instain Blush in Houndstooth
Houndstooth is a demi matte mauve-y pink that imparts the perfect subtle flush.  I generally gravitate toward warmer toned blushes, but I find this this shade really flattering.  I was pleasantly surprised that the formula actually does live up to its seemingly oxymoronic claim of being a staining powder blush.

Milani Brilliant Shine Lip Gloss in Luminous
This is a gorgeous, peachy gold gloss, which I’ve been wearing with pretty much any lip color.  It’s super flattering popped just in the center of otherwise matte lips for that full/juicy appearance.

Kaushal Beauty
My favorite YouTuber/blogger the past few months has been Kaush.  (In my mind, we’re on a nickname basis.)  Apart from being absurdly pretty, a bit like an Indian British Nina Dobrev, Kaushal’s classy yet modern aesthetic and detailed tutorials make her a captivating and informative beauty guru.

Parenthood
After a recommendation from my cousins Shana and Kaley, I decided to check out Parenthood on Netflix and pretty much binge watched the whole thing.  As a child of the nineties, I automatically love Lauren Graham Lorelai Gilmore, and I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for Dax Shepard.  The series captivated me because the characters all seem pretty realistic, including the parents, who are actual people complete with their own struggles and plot lines.  I highly recommend hopping on the Parenthood bandwagon if you haven’t already.  Although the series actually ended recently, I’m only through season 5 (so no spoilers, please!)

Keurig
I received a Keurig this past Christmas, and I don’t understand how I survived so many years on instant coffee.  The almost instantaneous, individually brewed cups taste just as good as even better than a traditionally brewed pot of coffee, and everyone can have the strength/flavor they prefer (As for me, I never met a medium roast k cup I didn’t like.)  You absolutely need to take the plunge if you’ve been on the fence about getting a Keurig, assuming it’s in your budget.

Let Downs

Fifty Shades of Grey (movie)
To be fair, I never got around to reading the book (which I’m generally pretty anal about).  However, I’m also a firm believer that a movie should be able to stand on its own in terms of character development, plot, et cetera.  The movie is sorely lacking in all of these areas, and I pretty much felt like I was watching one extended PG-13 sex scene (with my mom) for the movie’s entire run time.

The Beginning of Everything
This book read a bit like a watered down version of a John Green novel.  Cassidy Thorpe is a textbook manic pixie dream girl with no discernible qualities other than being mysterious, pretty, and pseudo quirky.  Robyn Schneider’s notion that “everyone has a tragedy waiting for them” is little more than a plagiarism of the first few lines of Green’s Paper Towns, which is infinitely better written.  I wanted to like TBoE, but the characters felt extremely one-dimensional and un-relatable.  I recommend skipping this one and reading Paper Towns instead.  (Unless you already have, in which case, please share your lovely thoughts below.)

What do you think of my Spring Loves & Let Downs?

Please comment below with what you’ve been loving lately.  (Feel free to link to your favorites post.)

XO, T

Leave a Reply

